logo


The general objective of the Media and Territories research area is to make an original contribution to developing digital humanities via a spatial and temporal analysis of information flows transmitted by the media (traditional and new media) in order to examine the territorialities that they transmit or reveal at different levels, from very local to very global, including regional and international.

This area was initially part of CIST’s territorial information programme, which was considered too vast and later subdivided into several more targeted areas. It became an autonomous CIST scientific focus area in late 2012 but its activity actually started in the early days of CIST in 2010 in the shape of the (fruitless) response to a project in the first wave of Equipex – Geomedia Mapper. The attainment of the ANR Corpus Géomédia in late 2012 endorsed the dense relations created within the initial group of about twenty researchers working on geography, computing and media and communication science and located in several research teams in different regions.

Other researchers participate in the area and extend its perspectives, partly through targeted studies on the role played by the media in developing citizens’ processes and social movements (China, North Africa) and on establishing open databases relating to territory (France and Latin America).

  • Opinion Dynamics and Cultural Conflict in European Space (2017-2020)

    Social media and the digitization of news and discussion fora are having far-reaching effects on the way individuals and communities communicate, organize, and express themselves. Can the information circulating on these platforms be tapped to better understand and analyze the enormous problems facing our contemporary society? Could this help us to better monitor the growing number of social crises due to cultural differences and diverging world-views? Would this facilitate early detection and perhaps even ways to resolve conflicts before they lead to violence?
    H2020 Odycceus project, launched in February 2017, answers all these questions affirmatively. It will develop the conceptual foundations, methodologies, and tools to translate this bold vision into reality and demonstrate its power in a large number of cases.

  • This working group, created as part of CIST’s Media and Territories scientific research area, is to encourage meetings between CIST researchers working on the subject (mostly geographers) and to put them in contact with other researchers (and other disciplines) working in the same field in France and abroad.

    One of the group’s first goals will be to produce a collective publication.
    The initial approach will be very broad, including:
    – Defining territory using data available on the web (opendata, WebGIS, data-sharing platforms, etc.)
    – Redefining territory and creating new territories using the web and web 2.0 (urbanism 2.0, territorial networks on the web, relationship between geographic proximities and media proximities, etc.)
    – Identifying territorial entities and the relations between them using media data available on the web (geomedia, etc.)

    This list is not exhaustive. Despite leaving the horizon open in this first phase, we will exclude studies on “virtual territories” and concentrate on definitions of physical territories.

  • ANR Corpus Géomédia – Observatory of international media flows – 2012-2014

    Financed through the French National Research Agency (ANR) Corpus Programme.
    The activities of the ANR Corpus Géomédia, which officially started on 1 November 2012, can be consulted in the project’s research blog, which acts as both a link between researchers and an external communication tool.

    Feasibility study on analytical tools based on Big Data project – 2014

    This project aims to provide specialized expertise on megadata, especially on web 2.0 (O’Reilly, 2005), linked to territorial data and information. After identifying the data sets available, a concrete, operational methodology will be proposed to process them with more traditional territorial data sets. Lastly, the project will make recommendations on processing this type of data.

    Projet Soft data pour les politiques publiques de la ville (PEPS) 2014

    This project explores the significance and role of soft data in making public decisions regarding town planning and management. Given the abundant data, the project will make a state of the art of existing data and develop a shared debate on methodological questions (“digital methods”) and theoretical issues (relationship between the digital and the physical) linked to using these data in urban policies.

logo


L’objectif général de l’axe Médias et territoires est de proposer une contribution originale au développement des sciences sociales numériques (digital humanities) en proposant une analyse spatiale et temporelle des flux d’information véhiculée par les médias (des médias traditionnels aux nouveaux médias) afin de s’interroger sur les territorialités qu’elles véhiculent ou révèlent à différents échelons, du plus local au plus global en passant par le régional et l’international.

Cet axe faisait initialement partie du programme Information territoriale du CIST qui a été reconnu trop vaste et a été ultérieurement subdivisé en plusieurs axes davantage ciblés. Il n’est devenu officiellement un axe autonome du CIST qu’à la fin de l’année 2012 mais son activité réelle débute dès les origines du CIST en 2010 à travers la réponse (infructueuse) à un projet de la première vague des Equipex – Geomedia Mapper. L’obtention fin 2012 de l’ANR Corpus Géomédia avalise la densité des relations tissées dans un groupe initial d’une vingtaine de chercheurs en géographie, informatique et sciences des médias et de la communication localisés dans plusieurs équipes de recherche de différentes régions.

D’autres chercheurs participent à l’axe et en élargissent les perspectives, notamment avec les études ciblées sur le rôle des médias : dans le développement des processus citoyens et les mouvements sociaux (Chine, Afrique du Nord) ; dans le développement de bases de données ouvertes concernant le territoire (France et Amérique latine).

  • Dynamiques de l’opinion et conflits culturels en Europe (2017-2020)

    Les réseaux sociaux, les forums de discussion et la digitalisation des informations ont un impact croissant sur la façon dont les individus et les communautés communiquent et s’auto-organisent. Peut-on dès lors tenter de capturer l’information circulant sur ces plateformes afin de mieux comprendre et analyser les problèmes majeurs auxquels nos sociétés contemporaines sont confrontées ? Cela peut-il nous aider à mieux gérer la multiplication des crises sociales imputables aux différences culturelles et aux visions divergentes du Monde ? Cela peut-il permettre de faciliter la détection précoce des crises et, pourquoi pas, trouver des solutions aux conflits avant qu’ils ne sombrent dans la violence ?
    Le projet H2020 Odycceus répond affirmativement à toutes ces questions. Il propose de développer les fondations conceptuelles, les méthodologies et les outils aptes à rendre opérationnelles ces visions ambitieuses et à en démontrer le caractère opérationnel sur une large gamme d’étude de cas.

  • Le but de ce groupe de travail est de faire se rencontrer les chercheurs du CIST qui travaillent sur ce sujet (notamment des géographes) et de les mettre en contact avec d’autres chercheurs (également d’autres disciplines) qui travaillent sur le même sujet en France et à l’étranger.
    Un premier objectif du groupe sera de produire une publication collective.

    Dans un premier temps, le thème sera abordé en manière vaste, en couvrant :
    – les définitions du territoire par les données mises à disposition sur le Web (opendata, WebGIS, plateforme de partage de données…)
    – la redéfinition du territoire et création de nouveaux territoires par le Web et Web 2.0 (urbanisme 2.0, réseaux territoriaux sur le web, relation entre proximités géographiques et proximités médiatiques…)
    – l’identification d’entités territoriales et des relations entre elles par les données médiatiques disponibles sur le web (geomedia..)

    Cette liste n’est pas exhaustive. Même en laissant l’horizon ouvert dans cette première phase, on voudrait exclure les études concernant les « territoires virtuels » en nous concentrant sur les définitions du territoire physique.

  • ANR Corpus Géomédia – Observatoire des flux médiatiques internationaux

    Financé dans le cadre de l’ANR Corpus.
    Les activités de l’ANR Corpus Géomédia, qui ont débuté officiellement le 1er novembre 2012, sont désormais consultables sur le carnet de recherche dédié au projet, servant autant de lien entre les chercheurs du projet que d’outil de communication externe.

    Étude de faisabilité sur des outils analytiques basés sur les mégadonnées
    Feasibility study on analytical tools based on Big Data project – 2014

    Ce projet vise à proposer une expertise spécialisée dans les mégadonnées, notamment celles issues du web 2.0 (O’Reilly, 2005) en lien avec des données et informations territoriales. Après avoir identifié des jeux de données disponibles et une méthodologie concrète et opérationnelle sera proposée pour les traiter avec des jeux de données territoriales plus traditionnels. Enfin, le projet aboutira à des recommandations pour le traitement de ce type de données.

    Soft data pour les politiques publiques de la ville (PEPS) 2014

    Ce projet vise à explorer l’importance et le rôle des soft data dans le processus de décision publique concernant l’aménagement et la gestion des villes. Face à l’abondance de ces données, ce projet vise à faire un état de l’art des données existantes et à développer une réflexion partagée sur les questions méthodologiques (« méthodes numériques ») et théoriques (rapport entre numérique et physique) liées à l’emploi de ces données dans les politiques de la ville.