logo


When the European Neighbourhood Policy was launched in 2007, it marked a change in the geographic size of the European area: for the first time, the EU recognized that it was involved with the territories on its borders, which go from Arctic Russia to Morocco (and even Mauritania in the eyes of the Union for the Mediterranean). The objective here is to analyze this major emerging region by comparing it to the other large regions in the world.

The CIST’s leading role in the EU programme European Neighbour Regions (ESPON) boosts its credibility on the now recognized theme of the great European region. CIST can mobilize scientists working on regional integrations in the world and Europe, on Europe’s eastern and Mediterranean neighbourhoods, and on the challenges of analyzing, representing and establishing a land use strategy for these vast territories. It can contribute to a better dialogue between disciplines that infrequently or rarely work together on this subject, i.e. economics (which has a long history of analyzing the question), political science, geography (oddly a recent newcomer to the subject), and also earth sciences on e.g. environmental issues (see the scientific federation led by the MISTRALS project on the Mediterranean, which would like to work more closely with social science and humanities).

This issue of regional integration is a good way to facilitate dialogue between researchers working on very far-removed fields and in sufficiently varied cultural contexts to be able to think of the “incommensurability” of the territories considered. This involves looking at the ways in which the issues arising from the progression of regional integrations in the world over recent decades are comparable in East Asia, North America, the Euro-Mediterranean, etc. (e.g. new North-South relationships and resistance to standards established in industrialized countries, territorial integration through transport and energy networks, etc.).

logo


Le lancement en 2007 de la politique européenne de voisinage signale le changement de gabarit géographique de l’espace européen : pour la première fois, l’UE reconnaissait qu’elle était partie prenante de ces territoires limitrophes qui vont de la Russie arctique au Maroc (et même à la Mauritanie si on se réfère à la géographie de l’Union pour la Méditerranée). L’objectif est d’analyser cette grande région en émergence, en la comparant aux autres grandes régions du monde.

Le rôle leader du CIST dans le programme européen European Neighbour Regions (ESPON) renforce sa crédibilité sur le thème désormais reconnu de la grande région européenne. Le CIST peut mobiliser des scientifiques qui travaillent sur les intégrations régionales, dans le monde et en Europe, sur les Voisinages orientaux ou méditerranéens de l’Europe, sur les enjeux d’analyse, représentation et stratégie d’aménagement de ces très vastes territoires. Il peut contribuer à mieux faire dialoguer des disciplines qui coopèrent pas si souvent et pour certaines rarement sur cet objet : économie (qui a une longue histoire d’analyse de la question), science politique, géographie (bizarrement plus récemment venue sur le sujet), mais aussi les sciences de la terre sur les enjeux environnementaux par exemple (voir la fédération scientifique qu’anime le projet MISTRALS sur la Méditerranée, et qui souhaite mieux travailler avec les SHS).

Cette question de l’intégration régionale est une bonne façon de faciliter le dialogue entre des chercheurs travaillant sur des terrains très éloignés et dans des contextes culturels suffisamment variés pour pouvoir faire penser à une « incommensurabilité » des territoires considérés. Il s’agit de voir en quoi les enjeux contenus dans la progression des intégrations régionales dans le monde ces dernières décennies, se posent de manière comparable en Asie orientale, en Amérique du Nord, dans l’Euro-Méditerranée etc. (nouveaux rapports Nord-Sud et résistance aux normes venues des pays industrialisés, intégration territoriale par les réseaux de transport et d’énergie…).