logo


Results of the survey directed to people who registered to the CIST scientific areas (2017)

The CIST wants to thank all those who accepted to dedicate some of their time to respond to its survey!

Survey context: transforming from a Scientific Interest Group to a Research Federation

This document synthesises the survey realised by the CIST from the 12th of January to the 17th of March 2017 among people who registered to one or more of the CIST’s 9 scientific areas (1), at the time the CIST changed statutes from Scientific Interest Group (GIS, since 2010) to Research Federation (FR, as of 1st January 2017). This survey aimed at better know the members of the CIST and their expectations, and was divided in three parts: the first concerning the respondents’ contribution within the CIST, the second his/her position towards territorial sciences, the third his/her professional occupation. After an invitation to contribute, there had been a number of reminders until the beginning of March.
Out of the 813 sent invitations, 418 people responded, among which 354 fully, representing 43,5%.
(1) The subscription to the CIST’s areas of research does not imply any commitment to their activities; it corresponds to an expression of interest through an online subscription form.

Profile of CIST members

Respondents largely define themselves as university researcher, employed in a university, within a research unit member of the CIST, feeling close to social sciences, declaring geography as their working discipline and wanting to interact with sociology.

Mostly university researchers

The majority of respondents declare a statute of university researcher (158); globally, higher education and research represents over 3/4 of the answers (grouping together the following categories: university researcher, researcher, postdoc and PhD).

How would you define yourself?
(one answer)

The French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) as main employer together with numerous universities

For those who did precise this, universities are globally the main employer (192, among which 145 in France); separately, the main employer is the CNRS and pretty logically universities that are already CIST partners (left-hand group on the graph, which underlines the main employers).

What is your employing institution?
(one answer within the list of CIST partners + free field for “other”)

The main research units in the CIST

CIST research units concern less than half the respondents (44,8%). They are rather logically the biggest units and/or the ones situated in Ile-de-France (left group in the graph, which only presents the main units: LADYSS, Géographie-cités, CITERES, IDEES, PRODIG).
For those who specified the entity when selecting “other”, we can find research units that are currently in the process of becoming CIST members (especially AE&CC and ESO).

What unit do you work in?
(one answer within the list of CIST partners + free field for “other”)
Distribution of the 158 respondents who are members of CIST units

The predominance of social sciences

Out of the 4 fields defined in the Debate paper (Territory as a legible result of complex processes and a resource for action) produced at the time of the 1st CIST international conference in 2011, respondents mainly feel closer to social sciences (291).

Territorial sciences lie at the crossroads of several fields of research.
Which of these four fields do you feel closer to? (one answer)

Social sciences disciplines account for the majority of answers about the respondents’ working discipline (72,6%) and the disciplines they want to interact with (63,3%).

And, from a disciplinary point of view, could you specify:
– on the one side, what are your working disciplines (3 at most)
– on the other, what disciplines would you like to interact with (3 at most)
Disciplines and interactions

Multidisciplinarity remains very relative in the CIST, which is largely dominated by
– geography (266 answers, either as working discipline [199] or a discipline with which to interact [67]),
– urban planning & development (171/103-68),
– sociology (151/64-87),
– environmental sciences (129/62-67).
Apart from the last one, interactions with the other three scientific fields are still stuttering. Among the 10 most cited disciplines (working discipline + interaction): Public health & epidemiology (82 citations), Ecology & environment (70) and Statistics (69).

Implication in CIST activities

Given that the subscription rather shows an interest than a real commitment in the life of CIST scientific areas, it is no surprise that only 54,2% of respondents declare their implication in CIST activities, mostly in events organised by within its scientific areas (71,4%) and in its international conferences and internal seminars (61,5%).

Have you ever participated in CIST activities?
If so, what activities? (multiple answers possible)

The limited involvement in the 10 research projects (past or in progress) of the CIST (11 respondents at most concerned by one project) can be explained by this type of actions which is not so open.

Number of participation in international conferences and/or internal seminars

Among those who declare having participated in international conferences and internal seminars, most actually participated in a unique event, 24% in 3 or more.

Getting involved in the CIST

In the 4 suggested priorities, the respondents mostly chose “Analysing” and “Theorising”.

What CIST priorities interest you most?
(2 answers at most)
As part of these four priorities, what types of activities would you like to contribute to?
(multiple answers possible)

Most respondents are interested in two activities.

And also in more occasional activities, requiring less commitment time-wise.
It is worth mentioning that 268 respondents declare they are willing to participate in CIST next international conference -Representing territories- which will take place in Rouen (France) on 22&23 March 2018.
[Call for papers open until 14 September 2017]

What CIST scientific areas interest you most?
(up to 3 answers)

The two main selected areas are Mobilities, identities and territories (46,3%) and Actions and territorializations (42,4%).

Is the CIST international dimension important for you? If so, what countries or regions would you be interested in?
(open field)

85% of respondents value CIST international dimension… in a very European-centered way !

53 suggestions of other scientific areas!

15% of respondents suggested the creation of new scientific areas (half of them being inactive in the CIST). It proves rather impossible to draw any conclusions since the suggestions are more individual projects than formulated in the scientific interest of the CIST federation.

In short…

This survey underlines the existence of weak links between the CIST and people who subscribed to its scientific areas, who are mostly scattered outside of the perimeter of its scientific units and in the end only lightly involved in its activities.
Open fields enabled to contribute to the missions assigned to the members of the CIST management committee (interdisciplinarity, international, stakeholders), which should sharpen in the coming months.
At last, within a stuttering interdisciplinarity (geography-urban planning), it nevertheless underlines promising perspectives as to the respondents’ commitment both on the types of actions and scientific areas, and on the fields of research.

logo


Résultats de l’enquête auprès des inscrit.e.s aux axes scientifiques du CIST (2017)

Merci à tou.te.s celles&ceux qui ont accepté de donner un peu de leur temps pour répondre à l’enquête !

Contexte de l’enquête : passage de GIS en FR

Ce document est la synthèse d’une enquête réalisée par le CIST du 12 janvier au 17 mars 2017 auprès des personnes inscrites à un ou plusieurs de ses 9 axes scientifiques (1), soit au moment du changement de statut du CIST de groupement d’intérêt scientifique (GIS depuis 2010) à fédération de recherche (FR au 1er janvier 2017). Divisée en trois parties (la première était consacrée à l’activité du répondant dans le cadre du CIST, la deuxième à son positionnement par rapport aux sciences territoriales, la dernière s’attachait à son emploi), elle visait à mieux connaître les membres du CIST et leurs attentes. Elle a fait l’objet d’un premier email d’invitation, suivi de plusieurs relances jusqu’à début mars.
Sur les 813 invitations envoyées, 418 personnes ont répondu, dont 354 en entier, soit 43,5 %.
(1) L’inscription aux axes du CIST ne préjuge pas d’une activité réelle dans les axes ; elle correspond à une déclaration d’intérêt via un formulaire d’inscription en ligne.

Portrait-robot des membres du CIST

Les répondant.e.s se définissent majoritairement comme enseignant.e-chercheur.e, employé.e par une université, exerçant son activité dans un laboratoire membre du CIST, se sentant proche des sciences sociales, déclarant la géographie comme discipline de travail et souhaitant interagir avec la sociologie.

Majoritairement des enseignant.e.s-chercheur.e.s

Si la majorité des répondant.e.s déclarent un statut d’enseignant.e-chercheur.e (158), le monde de l’enseignement supérieur et de la recherche regroupe plus des 3/4 des réponses (regroupement avec les catégories chercheur.e, post-doc et doctorant.e).

Vous vous définissez plutôt comme…
(1 seule réponse)

Le CNRS comme employeur principal aux côtés de nombreuses universités

Pour celles&ceux qui l’ont précisé, les universités sont globalement le plus grand employeur (192 dont 145 en France) ; individuellement, c’est le CNRS et assez logiquement les universités partenaires du CIST (groupe de gauche sur le graphique, qui ne présente que les principaux employeurs).

Votre établissement employeur
(1 réponse parmi la liste des partenaires du CIST + champ libre pour « autre »)

Les laboratoires phares du CIST

Les laboratoires membres du CIST concernent moins de la moitié  (44,8 %) des réponses. Il s’agit assez logiquement des plus gros laboratoires et/ou des franciliens (groupe de gauche sur le graphique, qui ne présente que les principaux : LADYSS, Géographie-cités, CITERES, IDEES, PRODIG).
Pour celles&ceux qui ont précisé l’entité « hors CIST » dans laquelle il/elle exerce, se détachent des laboratoires dont l’entrée dans le CIST est à l’étude (notamment AE&CC et ESO).

Dans quelle entité travaillez-vous ?
(1 réponse parmi la liste des membres du CIST + champ libre pour « autre »)
Répartition des 158 répondant.e.s membres des laboratoires du CIST

Une large proximité aux sciences sociales

Sur les 4 champs définis dans le Debate paper (Le territoire comme résultante lisible de processus complexes et comme ressource pour l’action) proposé lors du 1er colloque international du CIST en 2011, les répondants se sentent majoritairement proches des sciences sociales (291).

Les sciences territoriales se situent à l’intersection de plusieurs champs.
Duquel de ces quatre domaines vous sentez-vous le plus proche ? (1 seule réponse)

D’ailleurs les disciplines des sciences sociales représentent la majorité des réponses sur les disciplines de travail des répondant.e.s (72,6 %) et des disciplines avec lesquelles les répondant.e.s souhaitent interagir (63,3 %).

Et d’un point de vue disciplinaire, pouvez vous précisez :
– vos disciplines de travail (3 maximum)
– les disciplines avec lesquelles vous souhaiteriez interagir (3 maximum)
Disciplines et interactions

La pluridisciplinarité du CIST est encore relative, dominée par
– la géographie (266 la considérant soit comme discipline de travail [199] soit comme discipline avec laquelle interagir [67]),
– l’aménagement-urbanisme (171/103-68),
– la sociologie (151/64-87),
– les sciences de l’environnement (129/62-67).
À l’exception de cette dernière, les interactions avec les trois autres domaines scientifiques sont encore balbutiantes. À signaler cependant, parmi les dix premières disciplines citées (discipline de travail + interaction), santé publique et épidémiologie (82 citations), écologie-environnement (70) et statistiques (69).

Implication dans les activités du CIST

Parce que la liste des inscrits correspond plus à une manifestation d’intérêt qu’à une réelle participation à la vie des axes, il n’est pas surprenant que seul.e.s 54,2 % des répondant.e.s déclarent s’être déjà impliqué.e.s dans les activités du CIST, et ceci principalement dans les événements organisés par les axes (71,4 %) et dans les colloques internationaux et séminaires internes (61,5 %).
La faible mobilisation dans les 10 projets de recherche du CIST passés et en cours (11 personnes au plus concernées par un projet) est liée au caractère fermé de ce type d’actions.

Avez-vous déjà participé à des activités proposées par le CIST ?
Si oui, lesquelles ? (plusieurs réponses possibles)
Nombre de participation à des colloques internationaux et/ou séminaires internes

Parmi celles&ceux ayant déclaré avoir participé à des colloques internationaux et séminaires internes, la majorité des répondant.e.s ont participé à un seul colloque, 24 % à 3 et plus.

S’engager dans le CIST

Sur les quatre priorités proposées,qui structurent les activités du CIST, les répondants ont principalement choisi « analyser » et « théoriser ».

Quelles priorités du CIST vous intéressent le plus ?
(2 réponses possibles)
Dans le cadre de ces 4 priorités, dans quels types d’activités souhaitez-vous vous engager ?
(plusieurs réponses possibles)

La majorité des répondant.e.s sont intéressé.e.s par 2 activités.

Et apparemment aussi par les activités les plus ponctuelles, demandant moins d’investissement dans le temps.
À noter : 268 personnes déclarent compter participer au prochain colloque international du CIST – Représenter les territoires – qui se tiendra à Rouen les 22&23 mars 2018.
[Appel à communications ouvert jusqu’à fin août 2017]

Dans quel(s) axe(s) du CIST ?
(jusqu’à 3 réponses)

Les deux principaux axes sélectionnés sont Mobilités, identités et territoires (46,3 %) et Actions et territorialisations (42,4 %).

La dimension internationale du CIST est-elle importante pour vous ?
(champ libre)

85 % des répondant.e.s la déclarent importante et… très euro-centrée !

53 propositions d’axes thématiques !

15 % des répondant.e.s ont proposé la création de nouveaux axes scientifiques (pour la moitié il s’agit de personnes n’étant pas actives dans le CIST). Il semble impossible d’en tirer des conclusions, d’autant plus que les propositions apparaissent plus comme des projets individuels que réellement formulées dans l’intérêt scientifique d’une fédération comme le CIST.

En conclusion…

Cette enquête souligne l’existence de liens « faibles » entre le CIST et ses inscrit.e.s, qui sont principalement dispersé.e.s hors des laboratoires impliqués dans le CIST et finalement faiblement engagés dans ses activités.
Les contributions libres apportent des orientations pour les missions qui ont été assignées aux membres du bureau (interdisciplinaire, international, acteurs), qui devraient s’affiner dans les mois à venir.
Enfin, dans une interdisciplinarité balbutiante (géographie-aménagement), elle souligne cependant des perspectives d’engagement prometteuses à la fois sur les types d’actions et d’axes, ainsi que sur les terrains.